Shopping Cart

You Can't Use My Name CD

Regular price $10.00

Insightful 14-song retrospective documents Jimi Hendrix's 1965-1967 studio recording sessions with Curtis Knight & The Squires prior to his international fame as the leader of The Jimi Hendrix Experience. While Hendrix's intermittent tenure as a guitarist for Curtis Knight & The Squires was relatively brief, more than 100 albums have been crafted from approximately 40 studio recordings and customer-grade stage recordings by the group. Most recordings featured low-fidelity variations, remixes, edited versions, and instrumentals of the same material - often with song titles changed. These albums were poorly annotated, and all too often featured cover art that depicted the guitarist at the peak of his fame (and not as 'Jimmy Hendrix,' a sideman to Curtis Knight).

Now for the first time, You Can't Use My Name stands as the first, fully authorized attempt to present this music in its original context. Newly mixed and prepared for release by Eddie Kramer, You Can't Use My Name includes the previously unreleased 1966 recording "Station Break", the full-length versions of "Knock Yourself Out [Flying on Instruments]," the single "No Such Animal," and the 1967 recording of "Gloomy Monday" that includes dialogue between Hendrix and producer Ed Chalpin (featuring the guitarist's request that the producer not use his name on this session because of ongoing litigation). These recordings made for the record labels: PPX and RSVP; are part of Jimi Hendrix’s extraordinary legacy.

They neatly align with those other sessions Hendrix participated in during this same era as a sideman for other acts. Absent the confusion as to Hendrix’s true involvement, these recordings provide a snapshot of his development immediately prior to his discovery by Chas Chandler. “I was a backing musician playing guitar,” Hendrix explained in a 1967 interview. “I was always kept in the background, but I was thinking all the time about what I wanted to do.” Enjoyed in this context, these Curtis Knight sessions showcase his evolving technique and emerging brilliance.


  1. How Would You Feel 3:50
  2. Gotta Have A New Dress 3:07
  3. Don’t Accuse Me 3:55
  4. Fool For You Baby 2:14
  5. No Such Animal 4:50
  6. Welcome Home 3:47
  7. Knock Yourself Out [Flying On Instruments] 6:54
  8. Simon Says 3:37
  9.  Station Break 2:31
  10. Strange Things 2:56
  11.  Hornet’s Nest 5:09
  12. You Don’t Want Me 2:21
  13. You Can’t Use My Name 0:57
  14. Gloomy Monday 3:32