Shopping Cart

Curtis Knight & Jimi Hendrix 2 CD Bundle

Regular price $17.99

Get an inside look at Jimi Hendrix’s 1965-1966 tenures—both in the recording studio and live on stage—with Curtis Knight & The Squires and The Lovelights with this specially priced 2CD bundle.

This bundled collection includes the original CD releases of both:

  • You Can't Use My Name: The RSVP/PPX Sessions – Curtis Knight & The Squires
  • Curtis Knight Featuring Jimi Hendrix: Live At George’s Club 20 (1965-1966).


Insightful 14-song retrospective documents Jimi Hendrix's 1965-1967 studio recording sessions with Curtis Knight & The Squires prior to his international fame as the leader of The Jimi Hendrix Experience. While Hendrix's intermittent tenure as a guitarist for Curtis Knight & The Squires was relatively brief, more than 100 albums have been crafted from approximately 40 studio recordings and customer-grade stage recordings by the group. Most recordings featured low-fidelity variations, remixes, edited versions, and instrumentals of the same material - often with song titles changed. These albums were poorly annotated, and all too often featured cover art that depicted the guitarist at the peak of his fame (and not as 'Jimmy Hendrix,' a sideman to Curtis Knight).

Now for the first time, You Can't Use My Name stands as the first, fully authorized attempt to present this music in its original context. Newly mixed and prepared for release by Eddie Kramer, You Can't Use My Name includes the previously unreleased 1966 recording "Station Break", the full-length versions of "Knock Yourself Out [Flying on Instruments]," the single "No Such Animal," and the 1967 recording of "Gloomy Monday" that includes dialogue between Hendrix and producer Ed Chalpin (featuring the guitarist's request that the producer not use his name on this session because of ongoing litigation).

These recordings made for the record labels: PPX and RSVP; are part of Jimi Hendrix’s extraordinary legacy. They neatly align with those other sessions Hendrix participated in during this same era as a sideman for other acts. Absent the confusion as to Hendrix’s true involvement, these recordings provide a snapshot of his development immediately prior to his discovery by Chas Chandler. “I was a backing musician playing guitar,” Hendrix explained in a 1967 interview. “I was always kept in the background, but I was thinking all the time about what I wanted to do.” Enjoyed in this context, these Curtis Knight sessions showcase his evolving technique and emerging brilliance.


  1. How Would You Feel 3:50
  2. Gotta Have A New Dress 3:07
  3. Don’t Accuse Me 3:55
  4. Fool For You Baby 2:14
  5. No Such Animal 4:50
  6. Welcome Home 3:47
  7. Knock Yourself Out [Flying On Instruments] 6:54
  8. Simon Says 3:37
  9.  Station Break 2:31
  10. Strange Things 2:56
  11.  Hornet’s Nest 5:09
  12. You Don’t Want Me 2:21
  13. You Can’t Use My Name 0:57
  14. Gloomy Monday 3:32


Never officially released in the U.S. before, these recordings showcase Jimi’s explosive guitar work and lead vocal performances that Animals bassist Chas Chandler witnessed less than a year before becoming his manager and moving him to England to form the Jimi Hendrix Experience.

New York area bandleader Curtis Knight met Jimi Hendrix, then known as Jimmy James, in October 1965 and recruited the budding guitarist for his pre-Squires band the Lovelights. At the cusp of turning 23, Hendrix was already somewhat of a veteran, having already toured and recorded with, among others, the Isley Brothers and Little Richard. These raw recordings, made at George’s Club 20 in Hackensack, NJ on December 26, 1965 and January 22, 1966, capture the Lovelights (filled out with bassist Ace Hall, drummer Ditto Edwards and saxophonist Lonnie Youngblood) tearing through popular rock and roll, soul and blues songs of the day. Chris Kenner's Land of 1000 Dances, Ray Charles’ What’d I Say, Mercy Mercy by Don Covay and I'll Be Doggone, the Marvin Gaye hit, are featured in their repertoire, in addition to two songs Jimi would go on to play with the Experience: ‘Driving South’ by Albert Collins and Howlin’ Wolf’s ‘Killing Floor’.

Even in these recordings, Jimi’s personality, stagecraft and humor are evident throughout. More so was his burgeoning skill as a guitarist. Jimi wasn’t someone coming and learning on the gig. He was very seasoned. He had knowledge of all the hit songs. He had ‘em down. Ace Hall recollects. “Jimi was a leader. He would play out. A lot of guitar players are just card shufflers. Jimi was playing it loud. He made sure that everybody heard what he was doing. I have to give him that. He did it very well.

By the spring of 1966, Jimi Hendrix and Curtis Knight had parted ways. Hendrix would soon resurface in Greenwich Village, occasionally fronting his own group The Blue Flames, as well as performing with artists such as John Hammond Jr. By the end of the year, he was in London with a fully formed Jimi Hendrix Experience, on the brink of international stardom.

Soon after Jimi Hendrix became a household name, these live Curtis Knight recordings began to surface on shoddily produced bootlegs. Longtime Hendrix recording engineer Eddie Kramer just recently restored the audio by removing all overdubs and effects, so fans can now hear what Chas Chandler did in that nightclub over a half century ago. Bernie Grundman mastered Live At George’s Club 20 1965 & 1966 for optimum audio fidelity.

Live At George’s Club 20 1965 & 1966 is a significant addition to the Dagger Records catalog that now numbers sixteen releases. The imprint was established as a resource for devotees who want to dig deeper than the standard Jimi Hendrix catalog available through Experience Hendrix/Legacy Recordings. Since 1998 Dagger has been releasing titles such as Morning Symphony Ideas, Hear My Music and Live In Ottawa, which feature inspired performances and reveal home and studio recordings that may or may not meet the technical criteria and high sonic standards Hendrix himself established over the course of his short, but spectacular career. These informative ‘bootleg’ releases are properly annotated, complete with photos, liner notes and the best possible sonic quality and offer additional insight into Hendrix's musical mastery.


1. Introduction - :41
2. Killing Floor - 3:22
3. Last Night - 2:24
4. Get Out of My Life Woman - 3:48
5. Ain't That Peculiar - 4:24
6. Mercy, Mercy - 3:30
7. I'm A Man - 5:17
8. Driving South - 6:03
9. Baby What You Want Me To Do - 3:47
10. I'll Be Doggone - 2:57
11. Sweet Little Angel - 4:33
12. Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go - 3:55
13. Travelin' To California - 4:30
14. What I Say - 4:52
15. Land of 1000 Dances - 4:38
16. Come On (Let The Good Times Roll) - 4:10
17. Band Outro - :57